Lost Video Island Forum Index Lost Video Island
A Multifandom Vidding site

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Getting clips when you don't have the DVDs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lost Video Island Forum Index -> Technical Vidding Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
scarlett_106
Advanced Vidder

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:40 pm    Post subject: Getting clips when you don't have the DVDs Reply with quote

So I'm new to making my own clips--Kat taught me how to this summer! But I'm wondering how people get clips for "current" shows that they don't have DVDs for. I love vidding Lost, but feel that it's harder to find an audience for Lost vids. :-/ But if I were to vid a current show, I have no idea how I'd get clips except for relying on fansites, and I"ve found that the clips are usually sub-par quality.

Do people get torrents and make clips from those? Or maybe just do that for the current season and get the DVDs for past clips?

TIA!

DJC Productions
Expert Vidder

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I download all my stuff from Kickass Torrents. Just make sure to download a 720p hd version of what ever show your downloading. The files are usually around 1GB per ep. in .mkv or .mp4 format. I then have to convert all the eps. before I can edit with them. I use a program called Prism to convert the eps. to a format that works with my editing program. It's time consuming but it's the only way to do it really.

scarlett_106
Advanced Vidder

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote